In the Justice Court of The State of Oregon
For the County of Morrow
Small Claims Department,

Case No:
j Plaintiff
{(Inmate SID &, if applicable, ) SMALL CLAIM AND
v, NOTICE OF SMALL CLAIM
Filing fee at ORS 46.57¢
] [ subject to UTCR 5.180(8)
Defendant [ subject to ORS 6464.670(1) and UTCR
[JDefendant is a public body 5180(2)

PLAINTIFF ([_]Additional on attached page) DEFENDANT ([JAdditional on attached prge)
Name Name (snter Registered Agent, if necessary, on next page)
Street Street (do notuse a P.0. Box)
City / State ] Zip Tity / State / Zip
Phane County Phone County

» Ineed an interpreter: (] Spanish [J ASL [ other:
I, Plaintiff, claim that on or about (date)

the ahove-named defendants owed me the som

of (or property valued at) § because
, and this amount is still due.
1 id i
et
108 © +Fees §
and service costs of § +Costs §
TOTAL $
Small Claim and Netice of Small Claim QJD OQFFICIAL

Pagel of 3 {Feh 2022



DECLARATION OF GOOD FAITH EFFORT

I, Plaintiff, have made a good faith effort to collect this claim from the defendants before filing this cleim
with the court clerk.
(Describe your efforts):

If this case is subject to ORS 646A.670(1) (see the box at the top of page 1)
See the Oregon Judicial Department website for information about debt collection cases:

wnw.courts.oregon.gov/debigcollection

[]1have complied with ORS 646A.670(1) and UTCR 5.180. A completed Consumér Debt Coliection
Disclosure Statement is attached and incorporated into this pleading as required by UTCR 5.180(=2)(iil).

I'hereby declare that the above statements are true to the best of my knowledge
and belief. I understand they are made for use in court and I am subject to penalty

for perjury.

Date Plaintiff Signature

Plaintiff Name (print)

DEFENDANT’S REGISTERED AGENT:

Name

Street (do not use a P.0, Box)

City / State / Zip

Phone County

Small Claim and Notice of Small Claim 0JD OFFICIAL
Page 2 of 3 (Fvb 2023



NOTICE TO DEFENDANT:
READ THESE PAPERS CAREFULLY!

Within 14 DAYS* after receiving this notice you MUST do ONE of the following things
in writing:
¢ Pay the claim plus filing fees and service expenses paid by plaintiff (send
payment directly to the plaintiff, not to the court) OR
o Demand a hearing and pay the fee required (helow) OR

s Demand a jury trial and pay the fee required (below). This option is available
only if amount claimed is more than $750.

If you fail to do one of the above within 14 DAYS* after you get this notice, the plaintiff
may ask the court to enter a judgment against you. The judgment will be for the amount
of the claim, plus filing fees and service costs paid by the plaintiff, plus a prevailing party
fee. If you are not able to respond in time because you are in active military service of
the United States, talk to a legal advisor about the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act,

COURT NAME / ADDRESS / PHONE #

> Morrow County Justice Court
> PO Box 130

> !m?on, OR 97844
541-922-4082

Defendant’s Filing Fees (must be filled in by the PLAINTIFF):

(1) To demand a hearing if the amount claimed is $2,500 or less $
(2) To demand a hearing if the amount claimed is more than $2,500 $
(3) To demand a jury trial (only if amount claimed is over $750) $

You can fill out and file your Response with the Morrow County Justice Court,
215 N. Main Street, PO Box 130, Irrigon, OR 97844.

Ifyou have questions about filing procedures, go to www.courts.oregon.goy. Or you
may contact the court clerk.

The clerk cannot give you legal advice about the claim,

*NOTE: If the plaintiff is an adult in custody (ORS 30.642) AND the defendantisa
government agency ot other public body (ORS 30.260), the defendant must respond
within 30 days after receiving this Notice.

Small Clain and Notice of Small Claim OJD OFFICIAL
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In the Justice Court of The State of Oregon
For the County of Morrow
Small Claims Department

Case No:

Plaintiff
v. DEFENDANT’S RESPONSE

Defendant
» Ineed an interpreter: [ Spanish [J ASL [Jother: _

EACH Defendant must file a separate response (spouses and Registered Domestic Partners may
Jile a joint response)

] PAYMENT OF CLAIM:

Proof of payment (including fees and costs) to Plaintiff is attached (or proof that the
requested property was returned to Plaintiff)

Total Amount Paid: $ . (or) Describe property and method of return:

[ DENIAL OF CLATM
1 deny the plaintiff's claim and demand a [ hearing {or} (] jury trial*
“The claim must be for more than $750 (without fees and costs) to reguest a jury trisl

[J COUNTERCLAIM:
I make the following counterclaim* against the plaintiff for §
*Counterclaims must arise out of the same transaction or event as the plaintiff’s claim.

I, Defendant, claim that on or about (date) , the ebove-named plaintiff
owed me the amounnt claimed because

. and this amount is still due.
If the amount is the value of property that you helieve should be given to you, describe the
property: R e S S
Date Signature
COURT STAFF CANNOT GIVE LEGAL ADVICE L
Name (Priat)
Street T City/State/ZIP ~ Phone -
Small Claims — Defendant’s Response OJD OFFICIAL
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SMALL CLAIMS INSTRUCTIONS FOR PLAINTIFFS

If these instructions do not answer your questions, you can call the Oregon State
Bar 503.684.3763, or go to wwuw.oregonstatebar.org. The website

www.courts.oregon.gov has several useful resources including links to the Oregon
Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules. The court clerk may answer
questions about filing procedures, but cannot give legal advice.

Small claims are filed to resolve disputes without a lawyer. Court staff cannot give legal advice.
You may talk to a lawyer at any time for help with your claim, but lawyers are not allowed to
participate in small claims hearings without the judge’s permission.

> The amount claimed (including the value of property) must be $10,000 or less
o If you are claiming money and property worth more than $10,000, you cannot file a
Small Claim. Go to www.courts.oregon.gov, or see a lawyer for advice.

o Claims for more than $750 and up to $10,000 can be filed in either Small Claims or
general civil court. Lawyers can represent you in general civil court.

o Claims for $750 or less must be filed in Small Claims court. An exception allows these
claims to be filed in general civil court if the law you are suing under specifically
allows lawyer fees to be awarded. Talk to a lawyer for more information if you think
you are entitled to recover lawyer’s fees and want to file a claim for $750 or less in
general civil court.

> If you are filing the claim, you are the plaintiff; the party you are suing is the defendant.
This does not change throughout the case.

o Ignore the (Inmate SID #) unless you are an adult in custody. If so, use the “Small
Claims Instructions for In-Custody Plaintiffs”,

o Ifyou are a debt buyer or debt collector acting on behalf of a debt buyer, your claim
must comply with Uniform Trial Court Rule (UTCR) 5.180(2) and ORS 646A.670. If
not, your case may be dismissed by the court. Go to www.courts.oregon.gov/uter for
details.

o Ifyou are filing for a consumer debt but are not a debt buyer or debt collector acting
on behalf of a debt buyer, the caption must state “SUBJECT TO UTCR 5.180(3).”

> You must make a good faith effort to collect your claim from the defendant before you file.
Your claim form must include a statement under oath that you tried to resolve the issue
before you filed a claim.

> To start a case, fill out the Small Claim and Notice of Small Claim form.

o MAKE SURE YOU COMPLETE THE COUNTY NAME AT THE TOP OF THE FIRST
PAGE OF EACH FORM!

o Ifthe defendant is in prison, include the defendant’s SID (inmate ID) number like
this: (John Smith, SID# 12345) so the papers can be properly directed.

o Ifyou are asking for money damages, you must itemize and prove your actual loss.
Guesses or rough estimates are not good enough. Written professional estimates may
sometimes be appropriate, such as claims for repair costs to a home or vehicle.

= Do not request a lump sum where itemized costs are involved. For example,
do not claim “damage to my house: $4,000.” Instead, list the individual costs
—“Drywall repair $800; Plumbing replacement $1,000; Roof repair $2,000;
Repainting $200.”

Small Claims — Plaintiff’s Instructions OJD OFFICIAL
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o Fill in the party names on the Defendant’s Response form. Fill in the Plaintiff and
Defendant information on the top of page 1.

o You must fill in the amount of the defendant’s filing fees on the Notice page. Go to
www.courts.oregon.gov to get the current defendant’s filing fees.

o Your claim must include your filing fee. Go to www.courts.oregon.gouv to get the
current plaintiff’s filing fee. (See below for information about having your fees
deferred or waived).

o Bring the Claim and Notice and Response forms to the court with your filing fee

o The clerk may give you papers (including an Answer form) to include with the Claim

and Notice when you serve the defendant (see below for information about serving
the defendant)

> PRINT CLEARLY! Write all names first, middle, last.

> ALWAYS provide written updates to the court if your phone number or address changes

WHERE DO YOU FILE?

You must file your claim in the court for the county where either:
> Atleast one defendant lives or can be found at the time you file this claim OR
» The damage, claim, or injury occurred OR

> The defendant was supposed to perform an act under the contract (if your claim is based on
a contract)

When you file, the clerk will give you a case number. Put this number at the top of page 1 of each
document (where the form says “Case Number”), AND at the bottom of each page of the document
and all attachments.

WHO SHOULD YOU NAME AS A DEFENDANT?

When you file a claim, the names of all defendants must be complete and correct. Use the name
the defendant used at the time your claim first arose. For example, if your contract is with “Easy
Pay Way” but it is now out of business and you are suing the owners, name BOTH Easy Pay Way
and the owners John Smith and Angela Smith.
You may name as a defendant:
> Anindividual person (be sure the spelling is correct and use full, formal names — use “John
Smith and Angela Smith” instead of “Mr. & Mrs. Smith”)

> Anindividual “Doing Business As” a different name (you must use both the individual’s
name and write “dba [the other name],” see next section)

> A corporation (you must also have the name of the Registered Agent, see next section). Call
the Oregon Corporation Division at 503.986.2200 or go to wwuw filinginoregon.com to get
this information. Be sure you have the full, proper name and any initials of the corporation
(like “Inc.” or “LLC”)

It is up to you to get this information. The court cannot do it for you.

Filing a Small Claim FOR a Business or AGAINST a Business

If you are filing a claim against a business, check with the Oregon Corporation Division at
503.986.2200 or www filinginoregon.com for both corporation and Assumed Business Name
records.

Small Claims — Plaintiff’s Instructions OJD OFFICIAL
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> IF THE DEFENDANT IS A COMPANY (Inc., LLC, PC, etc.)
Use the full company name and address, and include the name and address of the Registered Agent
for the company. The Registered Agent is the person who will actually be served with the copy of
your claim. All companies must have a registered agent for this purpose. You must serve the proper
Registered Agent or your service will not be complete.

EASY PAY WAY, INC. Serve Registered Agent: John Brown
654 6th Ave 711 Bank Building
Hillsboro, OR 97123 Portland, OR 97225

> IF THE DEFENDANT USES AN ASSUMED BUSINESS NAME (dba) - LIKE A

PARTNERSHIP
Name all the partners that you know of “dba (doing business as) [the business name]” as
defendants. You must serve each partner (also called a “party of interest” or “owner”) with a copy of
the claim and a Response form.

John Way & Carol Smith Be sure you clearly show where
dba WAY’S EASY PAY each partner is to be served
654 6t Ave

Hillsboro, OR 97123

> IF THE DEFENDANT IS A COMPANY WITH AN ASSUMED BUSINESS NAME
The company name becomes the owner or party of interest, and you must serve the claim on the
Registered Agent of the company.

EASY PAY WAY, INC Serve Registered Agent: John Brown
dba Way’s Easy Pay 711 Bank Building
654 6t Ave Portland, OR 97225

Hillsboro, OR 97123

> IF THE DEFENDANT IS A PUBLIC BODY
“Public Body” is defined at Oregon Revised Statute 30.260 and means more than just government
agencies. Use the defendant’s full name. Do NOT use acronyms like “DOC” — spell out “Oregon
Department of Corrections.” Make sure you use the current name of the defendant. If the
defendant used a different name at the time of the event that you are suing about, then include a
note with the former name: “Current Agency Name (formerly Prior Agency Name).”

> IF THE PLAINTIFF IS A COMPANY
Follow the same rules about names if you are filing a claim for a business. If you are a company,
show your full corporation name as the plaintiff. If you are a partnership or a sole proprietorship,
name the owner or owners “dba [your assumed business name].”

FEES

The filing fee may be paid by cash, check or money order made payable to Morrow County
Justice Court. Go to https://www.co.morrow.or.us/justicecourt/page/small-claims-o to see the
current fees.

You must pay the service fee separately to your process server or servers (see below). If you use a
sheriff to serve defendants in different counties, write a separate check to the sheriff of each
county where a defendant will be served.

Small Claims — Plaintiff’s Instructions OJD OFFICIAL
Page3 of 9 . (Sep 2022)



If you cannot pay the filing fee, you can fill out a Fee Deferral or Waiver Application and
Declaration. If your fees are waived you do not have to pay. If your fees are deferred you will have
to pay according to the court’s instructions.

HOW DO YOU “SERVE” THE OTHER PARTY?

The plaintiff must officially notify all defendants that a case has been filed. This is known as service.
Important Note: If you are suing the Department of Corrections or any other state agency, you
MUST serve BOTH the agency and the Attorney General. You must also send copies of anything
you file to the Attorney General (see below for information about service).

Acceptance of Service — You can ask the defendant to sign an Acceptance of Service form as
an alternative to formal service. The defendant can accept the claim and other papers from you and
sign the form to prevent having a sheriff or process server perform service. Signing the
Acceptance of Service does not mean the defendant agrees with anything in your claim, only
that he or she received the papers. NOTE: this is NOT required.

If the defendant does not want to sign the Acceptance of Service, you must use another method.
There are four ways you can serve a defendant after you file your claim:

NOTE: Serving Public Bodies — If you are suing the state, use personal service to serve the
Attorney General. Or your server can leave the papers with a deputy, assistant, or clerk at the
Attorney General’s office. For any other public body, you can use personal service or office service
on an officer, director, managing agent, or lawyer for any party. If you are suing any state agency,
you must also serve all papers on the state Attorney General.

1. Personal Service:

a. By Process Server: Take a copy of the claim to the sheriff’s office in the county where the
defendant is located and have a sheriff’s officer serve the defendant. The sheriff’s office
charges a fee for service. You can also hire a private process server of your choice.

b. By a Non-Party: Have a competent* person 18 years or older serve the papers. The
server must be a resident of Oregon or the state where the defendant is. The server
cannot be a party to the case (plaintiff or defendant), or the lawyer for a party. The
server cannot be an employee or director/ officer of any party. If you have safety
concerns, have the sheriff serve the defendant.

*competent means a person who can understand, remember, and tell others about an event

A Certificate of Service must be filed with the court by whoever serves the
defendant, including the date of service and the name of the person served

2. Substituted Service: The process server may leave the notice at the defendant’s residence
(where the defendant normally lives) with someone 14 or older who lives there. The process
server must also mail a copy of the papers (with a statement of the date, time, and place that
the papers were served) to the respondent by first class mail. Make sure the process server
completes a Certificate of Service. The date of service is the day the first class mailing is
put in the mail.

3. Office Service: The process server may leave the papers with someone in charge of the
defendant’s office or normal workplace. The process server must also mail a copy of the
papers (with a statement of the date, time, and place that the papers were served) to the
respondent by first class mail. Make sure the process server completes a Certificate of
Service. The date of service is the day the first class mailing is put in the mail.

Small Claims — Plaintiff’s Instructions OJD OFFICIAL
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4. By Mail: Send a copy by certified mail, return receipt requested, Restricted Delivery
(delivery only to the addressee). You must file proof of service with the court, including
the signed green card, date of receipt and item number along with a Certificate of
Service by Mail. If you do not receive the green card back, or if someone other than
the defendant signed for it, service by mail was not effective and you must try another
type of service. The date of service is the day the defendant signs the green receipt card.
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Proof of Service

The Certificates are your proof of service. An original Certificate of Service or
Acceptance of Service must be filed with the court for your case to proceed,
regardless of the method of service.

If proof of service is not filed within 63 days of filing your Claim, your case may
be dismissed without notice to you

THE DEFENDANT CAN ...

Pay the Claim within 14 days of receiving service. This includes your court fees and costs.
Payment should come directly to you. Defendant may provide proof to the court that the claim is
paid, and you may file a notice with the court to dismiss your claim. You are free to settle with the
defendant for any amount at this point. If you are suing to return property, the defendant can
return the property to you.

Or

Deny the Claim — A defendant who does not agree with any part of your claim can file a
response within 14 days of service denying the claim and requesting a hearing or jury trial.
Defendants may also file claims against you called “counterclaims.” Counterclaims must be related
to the transaction or event that your claim is about. Jury trials are available only if the amount of
either the claim or counterclaim is over $750.

If the defendant denies the claim, you will be notified by mail of the date and time to appear for a
hearing. If you cannot appear at the time set, you must give a good reason in writing to the court at
least 14 days before the hearing date.

If the defendant demands a jury trial, you must file a formal complaint within 20 days after the
court sends you notice to do so. If you don’t, the case will be dismissed and you may have to pay the
defendant’s fees plus a prevailing party fee. Be aware that additional fees will be due from you. You
should see a lawyer. The court does not provide forms or samples of formal complaints.

Small Claims — Plaintiff’s Instructions OJD OFFICIAL
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IF THE DEFENDANT DOES NOT RESPOND

If the defendant does not file a response within 14 days of the date of service, you can ask the court
to grant you a default judgment. This means that you win because the defendant did not respond.
You must file a request for default judgment with the court within 35 days from the date the proof
of service was filed, or your case may be dismissed without notice to you. You may have to re-file
your claim and pay filing fees again if this happens.

For public body defendants — you must send a notice of your intent to apply for default to the
defendant before filing for default. For state agencies you must also send a copy of the notice to the
Attorney General. The court cannot issue a default less than 10 days from the day you serve the
notice on the defendant (and the Attorney General if necessary). You must formally serve this
notice according to Oregon Rule of Civil Procedure 9. You must also file a proof of service with the
court.

Fill out the Motion for Default Judgment & Defendant Status Declaration, and complete
a Small Claim General Judgment. File both with the court clerk. The prevailing party fee is
listed at ORS 20.190.

If you request more than 9% post-judgment annual interest, you must provide the court with a
copy of the contract at the time you request a Default Judgment

You must provide a Declaration of Non-Military Service before the court can order a default
judgment. This is part of the Motion for Default Judgment. If the defendant is in active
military service, you cannot get a default judgment unless the servicemember has waived
protection under the Servicemember’s Civil Relief Act. This federal law starts at 50 U.S.C. § 3901.
Your local law librarian can help you find it, or go to www.law.cornell.edu” (under Get the Law
click U.S. Code, then click Title 50 and Chapter 50). SCRA does not apply to all military
servicemembers at all times.

If the defendant is in the military, you should see a lawyer before trying to get a default judgment.
If a default is not done properly, the defendant can re-open the case after returning from service.
Be aware that if you knowingly make false statements about the defendant’s status, you may face
both federal and state penalties.

If you know the defendant is not in the military, you must state facts that explain how you know.
Some things that are not supporting facts are: he has long hair, he has problems with authority, she
does drugs, she’s too old, or he is not a U.S. citizen.

If you have the defendant’s Social Security Number or date of birth, you can go to the Department
of Defense’s website at https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/scra/#/home to find out if the defendant is in
active service. This site can give you a free statement of service status that you can print out (called
a “certificate of service” on the website). Attach this statement, or a printout of the screen, to your
motion. You can also call 571.372.1100 for military verification. Put the date and the name of the
person you spoke with on your motion. If you don’t have the Social Security Number or date of
birth, commercial websites may be able to provide information.

* This is an outside site maintained by Cornell University. The Oregon Judicial Department is not responsible for any
information on this site. Links may have moved.

Small Claims — Plaintiff’s Instructions OJD OFFICIAL
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If you don’t know whether the defendant is in the military and have checked the website, or don’t
have the necessary information, mark “I am unable to determine whether this person is in military
service” and add any facts that you do know. The judge will decide whether to grant the default.

YOU ARE STRONGLY ADVISED TO TALK TO A LAWYER IF DEFENDANT IS IN THE
MILITARY! Contact the Oregon State Bar at the number above for help finding a lawyer.

* ¥ % ¥ ¥

The court will send you a notice telling you whether your default was granted

MEDIATION

Many courts have mediation programs for small claims. Some may require mediation before a
judge will hear your case. If a defendant files a response denying the claim or making a
counterclaim against you, the court may schedule mediation for both parties. Mediation is
confidential.

Mediation has many benefits:

Mediation brings all of the parties together to discuss the dispute with a trained, neutral mediator.
Mediation offers a last chance to maintain control over the outcome of the dispute before turning it
over to a judge. Remember, no matter how right you think you are, you may not win the case.

A mediated agreement is enforceable once a judgment is entered.

If mediation is unavailable or if you are unable to resolve the dispute through mediation, a trial will
be set. Be prepared to present your case at the date and time on your notice of trial.

PREPARING FOR TRIAL

Small claims trials are informal so that the parties can handle their own cases. Lawyers cannot
appear without special permission of the court. The plaintiff first, and the defendant second, will
present sworn testimony, evidence, and witnesses to the judge. The judge is only interested in facts.
Your testimony should be brief and to the point. You may use written notes, but do not expect the
judge to read a written statement.

You, as the plaintiff, must prove your case. The defendant must prove any counterclaims
(counterclaims are claims the defendant has against you. They are NOT defenses to your claims
against the defendant). Come prepared with factual evidence like receipts, a written contract, police
reports, witnesses, etc.

Bring the following to support your claim:
Records, documents, bills, original contracts, photos, written repair estimates, etc. Make copies of

any material that you may wish to submit to the court and bring the copies AND the originals to
court. You may also want to bring copies for the defendant’s reference.

On the day of your trial, be sure to allow plenty of time to get through security and find your
courtroom. Be prepared to present your case at the time listed on your trial notice.

Anything you present to the court may be viewed by the other party and may become part of the
public record. It may be possible to protect certain kinds of information from disclosure. Talk to a
lawyer if you are concerned.
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COURTROOM RULES:

*Appropriate dress is required. See UTCR 3.010 and the local court rules. The judge may
ask you to leave the courtroom if you are not dressed appropriately.

*Caps and hats must be removed upon entering the courtroom

*Food and drinks are not allowed in the courtroom

*Weapons are not allowed anywhere in the court building

*Pagers, cell phones, and all other electronic devices that may disrupt court proceedings
must be turned off (not just silenced, because signals interfere with recordings)

*Audio or video recording is not permitted without advance permission of the judge

JUDGMENT

Once your trial is over, the judge will make a decision. You could:

Lose the case. You cannot collect money from the defendant if you lose.

Win the full amount of your claim

Win some of your claim, but not all of it

Win either the full amount or some of the amount, and lose against a defendant’s
counterclaim.

o Generally, if you and the defendant both asked for money, the amount you lost
(counterclaims) will be subtracted from the amount you won.

o Ifthe counterclaim is for more than you won, then you may win your claim, but still
have to pay the defendant money. For example, if you claim $100 and the
counterclaim is for $150 and the judge decides that you both win, then you will have to
pay the defendant $50 ($150 counterclaim - $100 claim = $50).

VVVY

The judge will tell you who has to fill out the Judgment form. Then the Judgment form has to be
given to the judge to sign. This form says how much the award is for, and who gets paid (if anyone).

The “judgment creditor” is the person who gets paid, and the “judgment debtor” is the person who
has to pay

The party who wins is the prevailing party. The prevailing party may be entitled to additional
money called a “prevailing party fee.” The judge may tell you how much the fee is, or you can look it
up at ORS 20.190. Write that amount in the “prevailing party fee” box.

NOTE: There is NO APPEAL from a Small Claims judgment. The judge’s decision is final.

HOW TO COLLECT AFTER JUDGMENT

Demand Letter

Once you receive your notice that the judgment was entered, you must send the defendant a
written demand for payment. This letter must be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested.
The Morrow County Justice Court does not provide forms for demand letters.

Keep a copy of the demand letter and the receipt card showing the recipient’s signature. Your
demand letter should say that you are making a demand for payment and give the debtor the total
balance due and a deadline (usually 10 — 30 days). The judgment will give you the total amount the
court entered as due to you.

If you are still not paid after sending the demand letter, several options are available to you. Go to
www.courts.oregon.gov for more information.

Small Claims — Plaintiff’s Instructions OJD OFFICIAL
Page 8 of 9 (Sep nvaz)



SATISFACTIONS

A “Satisfaction” is a form that tells the court that your judgment has been paid (satisfied). You
MUST file a Satisfaction of Judgment when you have received full payment on the money
award portion of your judgment. You may also file a Satisfaction of Judgment anytime you receive
a payment. A “partial satisfaction” means you have received payment, but not the full amount. A
“full satisfaction” means the award is paid in full. You must also send a copy of the Satisfaction of
Judgment to the other party. Satisfaction of Judgment forms are available online or at the court,
and there is no fee to file this form.

Small Claims Fees for Morrow County Justice Court

o $37 filing fee
¢ $37 Defendant's Answer Fee (No fee unless Defendant files an answer or motion.

* $215 Defendant's Answer with Demand for Jury Trial. Claim must be more than $750 ($90 Civil
Answer Fee & $125 Jury Trial Fee).

* $53 Plaintiff's Fee after Defendant's Answer with Demand for Jury Trial ($90-$37=$53).
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1IN THE JUSTICE COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON
FOR THE COUNTY OF _MORROW

Case No:

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
Plaintff (ORCP 7D{2))

v, [0 {a) Personal Service

[J (b) Substitute Service

J (c) Office Service

[ (d) Service by Mai)

Defendant

I, (name) ; declare that I am a resident of the state of
. I'am a competent person 18 years of age or older and not a party
to or lawyer in this case. I certify that the person served is the person named below.

I served true copies of the original Petition, Claim, or Complaint and Summons (with attached
notices of mediation and other information provided by the court clerk) and: (name any
additional forms served)

by (check a, b, ¢, or d and complete all information):

(a) O Personal Service on (date) , at a.m,/p.m., to
{0 Plaintiff O Defendant } (name) in person at the following
address in the Conntyof _
, State of 4
(b) O Substitute Service on (date) , at a.m./p.m., by
delivering them to the following address
in the County of , State of __ . Delivered to (name)

, who is a person age 14 or older and who lives there.

(Complete the section below only if the server also did the follow-up mailing required by ORCP
7D(2)(b). If a person other than the server did the follow-up mailing, that person must
complete a separate Certificate of Service Mailing.)

{0 On (date) » I personally deposited a true copy of the same
documents served with the U.S. Postal Service, via first class mail, in a sealed envelope, postage
paid, addressed to the party to be served: (] Plaintiff (] Defendant
(name), at the party’s home address listed above, together with a statement of

the date, time and place that the documents were hand-delivered to the party’s dwelling
{residence).

(c) O Office Service on (date) g at é..m./p.m., by
delivering them to the office of the party to be served, located at:

(address), during normal working hours for that office,
where I left the documents with (name), whoisa

person apparently in charge, to give the documents to the party to be served.

Certificate of Service OJD OFFICIAL
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(Complete the section below only if the server also did the follow-up mailing required by ORCP
7D(2)(c). If a person other than the server did the follow-up mailing, that person must
complete a separate Certificate of Service Mailing.)

1 On (date) , I personally deposited a true copy of the same
documents served with the U.S. Postal Service, via first class mail, in a sealed envelope, postage
paid, addressed to the party to be served: [ Plaintiff (J Defendant (name)
, at the party’s: [] home address at:

, OR [ Jbusiness address above, together with a statement
of the date, time and place that the documents were hand-delivered to the party’s office.

(d) O Service by Mail, Return Receipt Requested on (date) .1
personally deposited two true copies with the U.S. Postal Service, One by first class mail, and
the other by certified or registered mail, Return Receipt Requested, or by express mail, postage
paid, addressed to the party to be served: (J Plaintiff (0 Defendant
(name), at the party’s home address located at:

(address). (NOTE: If mailed Return Receipt
Requested, the return receipt must be attached to this Certificate of Service.)

I hereby declare that the above statements are true to the best of my knowledge
and belief, and that I understand they are made for use as evidence in court and I
am subject to penalty for perjury.

Date Signature of Server

Print Name

If person serving is NOT a sheriff or sheriff’s deputy, address and phone number of server:

Certificate of Service OJD OFFICIAL
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Civil Fees

Below are the fees charged by the Morrow County
Sheriff's Office for civil papers and evictions

Notice process: FED step 1 and 2, Summons (+attachments), Notice of
Restitution, Civil Subpoena, Citation, Order, Small Claim (for the same

court case):
# of Parties North South
Boardman, lrigon, Hermiston | Heppner, Lexington, fone, Echo
1 $100 $50
2 $100 $50
3 $134 B $84
4 $162 $112
5 $190 $140

* Add $28 for each additional party.

Eviction FED Step 3 (Writ of Execution of Judgment of Restitution).

# of Parties North South
Boardman, Irdgon, Hermiston | Heppner, Lexington, lone, Echo
1 $189 $139
2 $189 $139
3 $223 $173
4 $251 $201
i 5 $279 229

* Add $28 for each additlonal party.

Sheriff fees can be paid online here:

https://client.pointandpay.net/web/morrowcountysheriff

Any questions, contact the Civil Unit at 541-676-2504 or civil@co.morrow.or.us

Last update: 5/25/2023 1:15 PM




